Media Kit

Long Bio (172 words):

Kathy Weyer is an author, artist, and advocate. After retiring as a human resources professional in Corporate America, she committed her time to helping others through volunteer efforts, including animal and children’s welfare, literary advocacy with Palm Springs Library and Read San Diego, and business coaching for women entrepreneurs. 

Through her work as a grief and bereavement counselor, Kathy has interviewed hospice patients to record their life stories and is a court-appointed special advocate for children in the foster system. She was awarded first prize (twice) by the Palm Springs Writers Guild for fiction and memoir contests and has been published in several magazines. She is on the board of directors for the Friends of the Palm Springs Library and the Palm Springs Writers Guild. 

Despite her busy life, she de-stresses by getting creative with paint, fabric, yarn, paper, and whatever is handy. She lives in Palm Springs with her husband of 40 years and their rescued pets. She is the author of Stitches and the forthcoming sequels, Canvas and Pages.

Short bio (82 words):

Kathy Weyer is an author, artist, and animal lover. She was awarded first prize (twice) by the Palm Springs Writers Guild for fiction and memoir contests and has been published in several magazines. She is on the board of directors for the Friends of the Palm Springs Library and the Palm Springs Writers Guild. Kathy lives in Palm Springs with her husband of 40 years and their rescued pets. She is the author of Stitches and the forthcoming sequels, Canvas and Pages.

Top Ten Accomplishments; I:

…have been married for 41 years; I inherited three adolescents within six weeks of wedding

…am a graduate of Katharine Gibbs, executive secretary for waaaay too long

…received my bachelor’s degree at 50, master’s degree at 53

…wrote a book that was published on my 60th birthday

…was a grief and bereavement counselor

…began recording video life reviews for people facing end of life

…ran a senior center

…had a retail store (high-end dressmaking fabrics) in a large shopping mall

…was a recruiter and performance coach for small businesses

…made a movie called Yiddishe Mammas in which I interviewed ten fascinating Jewish women about their life stories

Advocacy/Volunteer Involvement:

  • Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA) for Voices for Children
  • Member of Rotary Club for over 30 years, Women in Business, Society of Human Resource Management, Chamber of Commerce
  • Hospice volunteer for caregiver respite care
  • Reading tutor for Read San Diego
  • Board member of Citizens Against Lawsuit Abuse, Palm Springs Writers Guild and Friends of the Palm Springs Library

Blurb for Canvas, book number two, out July 13, 2021:

What does it take for someone to know me? What will they say about me at my funeral? Who would care?

Renee Murphy’s term as mayor of San Diego is up. She opens an art store, which means saying goodbye to her retirement fund so she can honor her commitment to bring Heritage Art Park to life. Somehow, Renee inherits an angry fifteen-year-old who doesn’t want to be there. They have a lot in common, but Renee is not mom material.

Renee must reconcile her own upbringing, her jaded views on crime, drug use, and homelessness, and her need for love and acceptance while juggling Child Protective Services, a missing partner, a very sick friend, and a blast from the past.

The merry-go-round called life just stopped, and Renee is spinning.

A witty, relatable, and engrossing read for fans of Jennifer Weiner and Nora Roberts.

Social Media & Contact:

kathyweyer.com 

facebook.com/kathyweyerauthor 

twitter.com/katweyer 

instagram.com/kathyweyer 

youtube.com/channel/UCWBnfOABK9OvbmS5SNfr2YQ 

Headshots:

Book Covers:

%d bloggers like this: